Super NooB need help building freenas 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

digitalfortress

Dabbler
Hi,

I plan to build NAS using freenas 8. i'm totally new with NAS system but i do have some basic understanding in computing and networking. First of all i need some recommends from you guys for hardware parts. i plan to build a basic NAS for files storage at my office. So there're no very large files in there. most of all just MS office files, AutoCAD drawing (.dwg), etc. And since there is no "Huge" files i plan to use just 4 HD (Seagate 500GB SATA3) in RAIDZ 2. I know the capacity will be overkill but I do plan for using 4x500GB because the price only have a little difference than the smaller capacity. I need you advice in Motherboard and Processor choices. I don't have a tight budget, so please just give me advices in hardware that will serve my purpose but not too much overkill. also i don't have some old system that i can use it for my NAS, so i need to buy the whole new system.

One more thing i want to know, if i build the freenas and use it to store my AutoCAD files (.dwg) am i will be able to open and doing some editing from client PC via Gigabit or standart cat5 network ? also can a several client PCs access the same file all in one ?

Pardon me for many questions, and my English. Thanks a lot

NB: Please give me some advices in mobo that already have 4 SATA3 ports because i don't want to buy any storage controller anymore (Very difficult to get one in my country).

Regard,

Darkaine

Explorer
Well for hardware, I'd recommend trying to buy an older system from someone for dirt cheap. However since you'll want it to be reliable, obviously new is the best choice. I'd be able to help more if I knew how many people plan on using it. but I'd say for new parts. Go for a mini ITX setup. As the cases are rather small plus you could probably get one with 4HDD support.

Motherboard: ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (has 4 Sata 6GBs ports)