Suggestion: bounty?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DVitoD

Explorer
290px-Bounty-Split.jpg

:D:D:D​

No, seriously: over at the pfSense forum we have a bounty-section, where users can join in paying to have stuff made.

I am not a complete noob on 'puters, and also not on pfSense, but FreeNAS is new territory for me. I wouldn't mind to pay somebody a little money to help me out. For example, writing a tutorial on certain stuff, or even remotely helping out, writing a script for me, etc.

Actually, I was thinking, the benefit can be twofold:
  1. The user posting the bounty gets helped (and the helper earns a little money);
  2. Depending on the job on hand, and the conditions agreed upon, it could even be possible to donate the product to the project as well. Example: a very nice script ends up in the next version of FreeNAS, a very well written tutorial ends up in the next version of the manual, etc.
Of course, there needs to be thought about how exactly to do this (escrow function comes to mind), but anyway, I am just suggesting something that proves useful @ other fora as well :)

Bye,

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Uuuuuuggggg..... not sure how I feel about this.. lol.

There aren't many people that know FreeNAS through-and-through. There's still lots I could learn (but apparently this is the norm even when you are a certified expert in FreeBSD).

Those that work at iX would be except for obvious reasons (not to mention they do NOT join the forums because the signal to noise ratio is horrible), and the number of people here that can provide help that would be worth paying for can probably be counted on one hand.

Then you got the whole "what if someone doesn't pay" type of thing. I've personally had people try to stiff me before when I did contract work for people in the forum. You'd be surprised how many people want you to spend 4+ hours on their server for $20. I just don't think people would make the dollar amounts worthwhile.