Freenas to Freenas Rsync with SSH

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackjackz

Cadet
Bare with me here, i'm still kind of new to FreeBSD/Freenas

So here is what I have currently. Two freenas boxes, each on entirely different sites, no point to point or vpn link set up directly. but they do have dynamic DNS attached to them which goes through a pfsense firewall.

What I have tried to do and I have had working is the rsync module, which is not secure at all. But it works. I want to get the rysnc over ssh working between the two freenas. So basically freenas1 pushes dataset1 to freenas2 and then freenas2 pushes dataset2 to freenas1. Each freenas has a dataset to sync to the other.

I have followed the tutorial here http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas_tasks.html#rsync-tasks with no luck. I understand how rsync is supposed to work but I think i'm getting lost in the configuration. I was trying to attach an RSA key to a user other than the root user but didnt have any luck there either.

I searched the forums and unless I'm completely missing it (which is more than likely the case) I dont see any tutorial or guide on how to do this. I'm sure i'm not the first person to want to do this.

If someone could baby step me through getting one side to work i'm sure I can figure out the other. If I missed anything I'll add it to the post.

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
This seems better handled by ZFS replication.

blackjackz

Cadet
so does the zfs replication copy an entire data set or is it just copying the snapshot? my snapshots are quite small and I cant see how that contains all my data.

stefanb

Patron
Hi,
ZFS replication just copies the snapshot(s) data.
ZFS can't resume if connection lost, snapshot has to be sent again. Could be a problem having a weak internet connection.
S.

blackjackz

Cadet
So if its just copying the snapshot data its not moving much data at all, only the changes in files. Still it wouldn't be moving the majority of the data initially?