Storage capacity problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

freenasnoob

Cadet
Let me first say that I have never used freenas before

Now I just configured my freenas system and it is pretty ghetto I'm using an acer aspire one netbook with a 500gb external hard drive and the 144gb internal hard drive. The way I'm booting my nas is by a 14GB usb stick that i formatted with 7zip and win32 diskimager. This was just a bunch of spare hard ware that I had laying around and I wasent using this for anything else. Anyways to my main point i wanted to use this to back up my windows 7 OS. I was using the 144gb hard drive to do so. I figured that would be large enuf because the disk that has my OS on it is only about 66 gb full. The strange thing is when I tell windows to backup the OS on the hard drive it comes back with disk dosne't have enuf storage but when I look at how much storage was used it only shows 14.04 gb used out of 144gb. The only thing I can think of is that maybe somehow windows is reading my usb flash drive as the storage but I have no idea how to fix this.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Sorry. We don't support windows here.

Also, putting freenas on a laptop, even to learn it is often pointless. The hardware is almost never stable.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

freenasnoob

Cadet
All right good to know I just thought it would be an interesting learning experience and I had the parts available. Guess Ill wait till I have the money to build a proper nas and the storage needs for one as well. As for not supporting windows I didn't know that so sorry. I'm really not a huge fan of windows I really do think it sucks and I prefer Linux but I still need windows for gaming the day when I can switch will be awesome.

gpsguy