SSD Cache drive.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ddemonrider

Cadet
I am new to Freenas, would i gain any performance by adding a 32 GB SSD drive for cache, i use it for cifs sharing?

i have 2x2TB disk in mirror.

Thanks.

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer
I assume you mean read cache?

If you regularly read different files in excess of the size of that drive... not much. However, if your active data (say, an MP3 library) is smaller than that drive, you could gain appreciably better read speed. However, this only matters if you're already saturating disk read speed.

If you're thinking about that as a log device... bad idea. On 8.2, a single log device can never be removed or allowed to fail, because it will take the entire pool with it.

Ddemonrider

Cadet
Yes as read cache, i use it as a 1080p movie share. I just wounder if i get better speed, from nas I've tried to tune it. but i can't get more. I've entered the following to sysctl:

kern.ipc.maxsockbuf 67108864
kern.ipc.somaxconn 16384
net.inet.tcp.inflight.enable 0
net.inet.tcp.recvbuf_auto 1
net.inet.tcp.recvbuf_inc 524288
net.inet.tcp.recvspace 131072
net.inet.tcp.rfc1323 1
net.inet.tcp.sendbuf_auto 1
net.inet.tcp.sendbuf_inc 65536
net.inet.tcp.sendspace 131072
net.inet.udp.recvspace 65536
net.inet.udp.maxdgram 57344
net.local.stream.recvspace 65536
net.local.stream.sendspace 65536
net.inet.tcp.recvbuf_max 16777216
net.inet.tcp.sendbuf_max 16777216

and in cifs i've entered this:

socket options = TCP_NODELAY IPTOS_LOWDELAY SO_KEEPALIVE SO_RCVBUF=131072 SO_SNDBUF=131072 IPTOS_THROUGHPUT
read raw = yes
write raw = yes
oplocks = yes
max xmit = 131072
write cache size = 131072

Now i have about 58 Mb/second when writing to NAS and 55 Mb/second when reading from NAS. Just trying to get more speed :)

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer