Snapshot out of space

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaques

Dabbler
Hi guys,

I am new to freenas need some help please. I have one zvol used for iscsi. I allocated 90% of the volume to iscsi lun. I am now getting failed snapshot, out of space. Why is this?

Thanks
Jaques.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Stux

MVP
. I am now getting failed snapshot, out of space. Why is this

Probably because you are out of space?

If you allocated 90% of your volume to a LUN. And then snanpshotted it. And then filled it to 11% and then snapshotted it, you'd be out of space.

Because you only have 10% free BEFORE you started making changes.

And you should never fill a ZFS pool past 90% anyway (it falls off a performance cliff as it switches block finding algorithms at 90% full)

Jaques

Dabbler
Thanks for the feedback. Freenas is quite a Learning curve. will reduce the size and see what happens

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
How about don't use a zvol? If this is tripping you up you probably don't need iscsi. It's an advanced feature.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Jaques

Dabbler
Hi All

ok, I think I figured out how this snapshot space thing works. Please correct me if I am wrong. If I have say 3x 3tb drives in Raidz, this give's me 5.2tib usable storage.
If I create a Iscsi Lun of say 500gig and fill this up for argument sake, the total space will then be 1tib after the snapshot ran, correct? or am i still missing it?

Stux

MVP
not quite.

A snapshot initially takes no space. As the data changes, anything you delete/change which was present in the snapshot will still be present in the snapshot in its orginal state, and that is why the snapshot grows.

So, you write 200GB, take a snapshot... no extra space... now you delete the 200GB, the 200GB is still present in the snapshot... so you don't get the space back while the snapshot exists.