Slow Read and Write Speeds On Server Build.

Ronanmck

Cadet
Hi, I built my first FreeNas Server a year ago. I upgraded my PC and so used my old components and some new drives to create the build. I am a photographer and videographer and so I shoot a lot of content and need s reliable backup for clients' information. My current setup is great for basic file storage, however, I am getting very sparatic and slow read and write speeds meaning I can't actually edit directly from the server, instead, storing information on a local SSD to work off and transferring back and forth from the server. I get a maximum Write speed of about 112mbs but can drop as low as 20 during transfer.

My current setup totals 20TB and I filled this in a year... so time to upgrade. I have just ordered 7 16TB WD red Pro Drives, however before I put them in I would like to get my speeds fixed. I am thinking it possibly may be due to little ram and so this not being available as a Cache, however, I am also reading that I could install an M.2 to use as a cache to help speed up write speeds. I am very new to this world and any advice would be appreciated.

Thank You
  • Asus MAXIMUS VIII HERO
  • Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz
  • 8GB DDR4
  • 7 WD Red 4Tb in Raid Z1 & 128GB SSD boot drive

NugentS

MVP
RAM is indeed low, way low. Try 16, 32 or preferably 64. ZFS loves RAM
CPU is fine
Check the drives - are they SMR or CMR - given that they are WD Red 4TB - might be SMR. What model numbers are they? This may well explain the slowdown
Network Card is 1Gb (Intel) so should be OK. This would match your 112Mb/s

Cache (L2ARC) will not help - it doesn't do what you think it does and only effects reads, not writes and you don't have enough memory for L2ARC