Setup for 6 drives with 2 spares (4+2)

markomo

Cadet
Hi all, I am total nob and just have hardware ready for setup (did a test installation) and I will need an advice for setup.
There are a lots of questions and answers to similar questions.

I am looking into setting up TrueNas with 6 drives (if that's better option) with size of 8 TB (best value for the money). I am not looking for big capacity and not care much about usable space. I would be okey with 20-24 TB at the end and for longer term.
I have music, photos, my main PC weekly backups to store. Speed is not important that much, I have 1 Gb network so does not really matter overall.

I am looking more for data integrity and less chance to loose data (with any configuration up to 6 drives * 8 TB.
What I've found RAIDZ2 would be best option. I am wondering how should I setup my pool(s)? I am thinking of 4 + 2 drives; 4 data and 2 cold spares or .. I am new in this but do not want make big mistake in choosing optimal option.

I have PC ready with 32 GB RAM, RAIDZ2 should not be a problem. Thanks in advance!

c77dk

Patron
When you have a total of 6 drives, just put them all in one raidz2 vdev (and do proper burn-in). That would give you about 22TiB usable space.

markomo

Cadet
That sound like a good plan. I am not exactly sure what redudancy I get and what (which) drive can fail without having data lost. Replacing drive procedure and all of that. I am not sure what burn in means and how to do it / what it does. I want to keep backups on it, music and photos (which is important). Thinking about getting another 8 TB drive for cold copies for what's important and can't be lost in any case.

Just thinking about how long will it actually last; it won't be under any heavy load and usage.

I am thinking to add two SSD-s and use them for VMs. Will that work without problem as different vdev? It should not effect performance.