BUILD Selecting hardware to build a small NAS to transcode

Status
Not open for further replies.

simple_guy

Cadet
I’m trying to build a FreeNAS server just for Plex. I have never built a NAS or used FreeNAS before so forgive my ignorance. It needs to be small enough that I can put it on my carry-on bag but powerful enough to transcode 10-15 streams. I will be using this NAS to remote travel with a bunch of coworkers to consolidate all our movies and tv shows instead of bringing DVDs and external hard drives.

Here’s what I have picked out so far:

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2620 V4 2.1GHz 8-Core Processor – This is the one I’m stuck on. Not sure if the motherboard supports this processor or not. I have contacted ASRock but no reply yet. But if it does work it seems like it would have the power to transcode the streams I need.

CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U12DXi4 55.0 CFM CPU Cooler – Cooler that fits the case.

Motherboard: ASRock X99E-ITX/ac Mini ITX LGA2011-3 Motherboard - Only motherboard I could find that fits the case/memory. All the Supermicro ones I saw on the starter guide were ATX/microATX.

Memory: 2x Samsung 16GB Registered DDR4-2133 Memory (p/n M393A2G40DB0-CPB) – Matches the motherboard from ASRocks website.

Storage: 3x Western Digital Red 8TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive

3x Seagate NAS HDD 8TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive

FreeNAS Storage: SanDisk Cruzer Fit 32 GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive

Video Card: MSI Radeon R7 250 2GB Video Card – Something to stick in there to set up the server.

Case: Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Tower Case – Looks like the right case for what I need.

Power Supply: Corsair 760W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply – Overkill, but I have a spare one.

Any help would be much appreciated

Spearfoot

He of the long foot