Replicating to an external USB drive for off-site storage

felippe

Dabbler
Hello,

I did try to search for a solution before posting this. but couldn't find any - maybe I wasn't using the right search terms. I am sorry if this has been previously discussed. I am new to TrueNAS and still finding my way through all the features.

Currently, apart from the boot disk (120GB SSD) I have only one 2TB SATA drive; I mentioned in another post that a second one is on its way to me. There is one pool - named "data" - with a dataset and a few child datasets. Before adding the second drive to the pool (mirror) I want to make sure my data is safe, so I plugged a 1TB external USB drive to the server. I created another pool- named "usb-backup".

Then I created and run a replication task. Now all my files and folder from the "data" pool are replicated to the "usb-backup" pool on my external USB HDD.

The question is: what is correct procedure to disconnect the external USB drive from the server, to make sure when reconnecting it, I can safely recover my data if anything bad happens when I add the second SATA HDD?

I am asking this because I did a test, which, in my view, failed. After replicating all my data, I powered off the server, disconnected the external USB HDD, replaced a "too long" SATA cable, and powered up the server. After making sure the server is up and running, and I have access to the Web UI, I plugged back the external USB drive. The problem was that the Dashboard was showing the "usb-backup" pool as off-line! I couldn't bring it back online, so I deleted, rebuilt, and run the replication task again.

Redcoat

MVP
The question is: what is correct procedure to disconnect the external USB drive from the server, to make sure when reconnecting it, I can safely recover my data if anything bad happens when I add the second SATA HDD?
Export the pool before pulling the drive. When you put the drive back, import the backup pool.