Replacing a Faulted Disk

Status
Not open for further replies.

netman06

Dabbler
Hello,

I have been using FreeNAS for about 2+ years and have not run into this issue yet.

I normally follow this document and all of my problems were able to get fixed using it.

But this time I have a Disk labeled Faulted and the Volume is Degraded.

So, I have been researching this for 2 days and have read many posts.

I'm running a smartctl -t long /dev/ada7, but I think that I just need to replace this disk.

As of now that only option that I have is Replace for the Disk.

Will it be safe to shutdown and replace drive, then follow this article.

Thanks for any information,

Before physically removing the failed device, go to Storage ‣ Volumes ‣ View Volumes. Next, select your volume’s name. At the bottom of the interface you will see several icons, one of which is “Volume Status”. Click the “Volume Status” icon and locate the failed disk. Once you have located the failed device in the GUI, perform the following steps:

1. If the disk is formatted with ZFS, click the disk’s entry then its “Offline” button in order to change that disk’s status to OFFLINE. This step is needed to properly remove the device from the ZFS pool and to prevent swap issues. If your hardware supports hot-pluggable disks, click the disk’s “Offline” button, pull the disk, then skip to step 3. If there is no “Offline” button but only a “Replace” button, then the disk is already offlined and you can safely skip this step.

Note

if the process of changing the disk’s status to OFFLINE fails with a “disk offline failed - no valid replicas” message, you will need to scrub the ZFS volume first using its “Scrub Volume” button in Storage ‣ Volumes ‣ View Volumes. Once the scrub completes, try to “Offline” the disk again before proceeding.

2. If the hardware is not AHCI capable, shutdown the system in order to physically replace the disk. When finished, return to the GUI and locate the OFFLINE disk.