Realtek 8111E nic (integrated) turned off after boot Truenas Scale 22.12.0

rikinn55

Cadet
I have looked other threads related to the Realtek 8111E and they seem to always refer to Freenas or core. I am on Truenass scall 22.12.0.
I am new to the software so I'm learning as I go. The nic works during boot-up but once booted the connection lights go out and the Realtek 8111E is not seen by Scale. How could I get this to work? Do I need to install drivers? If so, I don't know how in linux. Also, I have an Intel nic and when I install it Scale sees it, the connection lights are on; when cable plugged in but, I don't pull and IP address.

I had things working before I upgraded the MB and the only issue I seem to be having is the network connection. If anyone can help it would be appreciated.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
@jgreco, more Z-Ray action here...

I have looked other threads related to the Realtek 8111E and they seem to always refer to Freenas or core. I am on Truenass scall 22.12.0.
I am new to the software so I'm learning as I go. The nic works during boot-up but once booted the connection lights go out and the Realtek 8111E is not seen by Scale. How could I get this to work?
As amply documented (and the answer does not change from what you've read), do not use Realtek.
Also, I have an Intel nic and when I install it Scale sees it, the connection lights are on; when cable plugged in but, I don't pull and IP address.
Well, in that case you probably have one of two problems:
  1. Your DHCP server isn't working correctly
  2. Your server is not configured to request an DHCP lease.
The solution for both is to set up a static IP address on your server, which is what you should do anyway. If that doesn't work, you probably have a damaged Ethernet cable.
I had things working before I upgraded the MB
You upgraded to something with a Realtek NIC?

rikinn55

Cadet