Re-share of SMB mountpoint - is it possible? How?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wumbaba

Cadet
Dear Forum,

i'm completely new to FreeNAS and want to understand if what i try to archive can be done with reasonable effort.

I want to know if it is possible to share a mountpoint as SMB/AFP/FTP share, that is itself mounted in the FreeNAS box through SMB from another server? If so, can someone outline how to best approach this?

I have mounted the other machines SMB share under /mnt/reshare on the FreeNAS box which, apart from some basic network and admin password setup, has seen nothing configured yet. I was assuming to just be able to select /mnt/reshare now under "Sharing:Windows (CIFS) Shares:Add Windows Share" but when i try to, i only get a "/" in the path browser and with this, or when manually entering /mnt/reshare/, it errors with a message "The path must reside within a volume mount point", which is what i though i had given. I could not find the answer to this in the manual.

It must be something very obvious to the experienced FreeNAS admin why this won't work and how it would have to be done. Can anybody give me the required nudge into the right direction?

Many thanks for your help.

Cheers,

- Stefan

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Can it be done? Yes.

Is it completely stupid to even consider such an option? Absolutely.

You don't share a share if you value your data at all.

But, if you still plan to do this illconceived method, you'll need to look up how to script your own mountpoints and samba config file to make it work. I will tell you that you will be fighting FreeNAS the whole way because it likes to control the config file and it won't let you share a share.

wumbaba

Cadet
Uhh, thanks for the reply i guess.

So the bottom line is, that FreeNAS won't let you share a share unless you hack your way around it, uphill, all the way?