Re-key failure & cannot read metadata

Status
Not open for further replies.

darowley

Dabbler
I think I fell victim to a a combination of two "bugs".

No, I don't have a backup of my 24TB of data, but literally had just bought new hardware to setup as a full backup the day before and had started to copy a little bit of data over.

I'm new to this so here is what happened...

I added a passphrase to my 8 disk system (identical 5TB drives). Raidz2. (Was running freenas 9.10.1 but have now upgraded to 9.10.02) - I actually thought I had a passphrase but I never did to begin with. - Huge regret in adding that passphrase...

There was an error that popped up and then disappeared right after I added the passphrase. I didn't get a chance to read the error, but I think I saw the word "failed". I now think that this error was a re-key error. - I didn't change the encryption key, I just added a passphrase.

I rebooted.
Then the volume was LOCKED, and when trying to unlock, it said "Volume Failed Unlock".
I detached the volume to try to re attach it and only 3 of the drives showed up on page 2/3 (pick disks to decrypt). But with the correct key file and passphrase I got an error that it couldn't attach.
Via the shell I was able to "geli attach" those three drives, but the other FIVE seem to just give me this error: geli: Cannot read metadata from ada1p2: Invalid argument.

I have read a lot and have found this:
The freenas support page says this HIGLIGHTED in ORANGE: If a re-key fails on a multi-disk system, an alert is generated. Do not ignore this alert as doing so may result in the loss of data.
https://doc.freenas.org/9.10/storage.html#managing-encrypted-volumes
So what is the user supposed to do when a re-key error happens? (I didn't even see the error long enough to read it)
I restarted... Was that bad?

Bug #1: https://bugs.pcbsd.org/issues/13409