RackMount UPS Recommendation

DayDreamer88

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

I bought a used server from Mr.Rackables 2 years ago and I'm finally getting around to installing FreeNAS after a number of moves. I got a SuperMicro SSG-6047R-E1R36N which has a X9DRi-LN4+ board and dual CPU E5-2650L (sorry, not sure which version this one is but I think it's V3) @ 1.8 GHz.

I don't have it loaded to capacity yet, only using 12 of the 36 bays. I'm a total noob and not sure how to calculate this, but assuming I were to use all 36 bays, what size UPS Battery might I need? I would only be connecting the server, a small LCD display, a keyboard, 1 cable box, and 1 switch or router do you have any recommendations for rackmountable options?

I was originally looking at the Tripp-Lite SMART1500LCD but I'm not sure if that's enough or I should be looking at bigger options.

Thanks for all the help!

danb35

Hall of Famer
You should size the UPS based on your desired runtime, which unfortunately can be hard to find with many manufacturers (APC does publish runtime charts, though they're based on new batteries, so you should probably derate by 50%). I have a very similar system, and it draws (according to the IPMI power monitoring) around 320 watts at idle--so the unit you mention would be more than adequate in terms of peak power output (expect no more than 400 watts total load). If all you want is something to power it for a few minutes to allow it to shut down safely, go for it. If you want the UPS to power the system through an extended outage, though, you'll probably need something bigger.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
which has a X9DRi-LN4+ board and dual CPU E5-2650L (sorry, not sure which version this one is but I think it's V3
That system board only supports v1 and v2 processors, so if it doesn't say it is v2, it is probably v1.
CPU E5-2650L
That is an incredibly low-end processor for a Zeon server processor: