R620, XCP-NG and slow read performance

RobMil

Cadet
Hello all,

I'm new to using FreeNas and would like to know if anyone can help me with diagnosing my slow read performance.

I currently have FreeNas setup as a VM on my xcp-ng server. The VM is configured with 64GB of ram, and direct access to the raid card that was flash into IT mode. I have 10 WD 2.5 blue 2TB drives attached to it in one Zpool using RAIDZ2.

My write speed is good. I performed a DD check directly on the FreeNas box and get a write throughput of 392MB/s, but my read speeds are on the slow side at 93MB/s. I'm just curious if I have something miss configured. I have syncing turned off, but I'm kinda of lost on what else to do. I know the WD Blue 2.5 drives are slow, but with 10 of them I figured the read speed would be a bit better. If I transfer a file off the NAS to my desktop I get a throughput of around 30MB/s using a SMB share. If I recopy the file a second time once it has been cached I get a full 110MB/s. My transfer speed to the NAS is 110MB/s, which makes sense it is just loading it to the memory. It seems like I need a L2ARC, but how much help would that truly be?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

RobMil

Cadet
I was just doing some further testing it seems to working well at the moment. Netdata reports I'm get read speeds above 120MB/s and my transfers are between 90-110MB/s. Maybe after I un-sync'd the entire pool it took time for FreeNas to get everything in order and it works good enough the my 1Gb connection.

I was just doing some further testing it seems to working well at the moment. Netdata reports I'm get read speeds above 120MB/s and my transfers are between 90-110MB/s. Maybe after I un-sync'd the entire pool it took time for FreeNas to get everything in order and it works good enough the my 1Gb connection.