question about iscsi

Status
Not open for further replies.

TravisT

Patron
iSCSI - Only 4 targets show up

I'm trying to get iSCSI setup on FreeNAS-8.2.0-RELEASE-p1-x64 and I'm running into some trouble. I'm totally new to iSCSI, so keep that in mind.

I set up a 4 disk zpool named "raptor". I created a zvol for each virtual machine I am configuring. Lets say the names are:

machine1.disk1
machine2.disk1
machine3.disk1
machine4.disk1

I then created device extents for each of these, and created the Targets / Extents required to get iSCSI up and running. I scanned the virtual iSCSI adapter on my VMWare ESXi 5 box and all disks were detected. Cool.

When setting up a new virtual machine, it still wants to save the VM settings on my local hard drive of the VM. I'm trying to free this drive up and remove all local storage from it, so I think that I'll just create another iSCSI extent and attach it to the ESXi host to store the VM settings. When I setup a 5th target/extent, the ESXi box will not discover it. I've tried both manual and automatic discovery, and the 5th extent was created the exact same way the first four were created. Am I doing something wrong or missing something? Could this be a limitation on ESXi? Is there a better way to do this?

I've searched the web and can't find anything useful.

TravisT

Patron
So I figured this out. After restarting the service the additional target showed up.

Now I'm fighting with ESXi after reconfiguring the target configs. It says one drive is unattached and shows 5 paths but only 4 devices. Back to google...

matram

Dabbler
It says one drive is unattached and shows 5 paths but only 4 devices. Back to google...

A device can have multiple paths if it has more than one NIC through which it can send traffic. It would be normal to have two paths for one device to have failover.

/Mats

TravisT

Patron
Mats,