push rsync from freenas to another server?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I'm pretty much a FreeNAS newbie and I'm trying to set up an rsync job to push really important data to another nas box (QNAP TS219P+) on my network.

I have looked over lots of tutorials online and i thought I'd set it up correctly, but the files are not replicating.

I have dug through the log files and found the following:

Mar 24 03:00:00 freenas /usr/sbin/cron[67447]: (tombuckland) CMD (PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin" lockf -s -t 0 -k '/mnt/BigHutchNAS/TomsFiles/Photographs' rsync -r -t -z '/mnt/BigHutchNAS/TomsFiles/Photographs' tombuckland@\HutchNAS\::FreeNAS_Backup 2>&1 |/usr/bin/logger -t rsync)

I ca't find any errors for the job not executing properly in this log (in the cron log)

This is the job I set up, so it does look like the FreeNAS box is tying to push the data to the other box, but I'm a total rsync beginner so I'm not too confident about working out why this is not working.

The QNAS implementation of rsync is made for dummies - part of the trouble with that is that I think it is doing stuff under hood which I can't figure out.

Can anyone offer any insights?

Thanks,

F'n'F

Ok thanks Robert, you were correct, some old DOS/Windows habits slipping in there... However I corrected the syntax and the job still doesn't run. I've added a password file for the rsync command to make a call to as per the FreeNAS documentation but still no dice. Can't find any error messages in the FreeNAS logs (tried the cron log and the messages log, any others I should look at?) and I can't find any errors on the QNAP box either. I'm getting frustrated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Let me put it another way: Why are there slashes in the module spec?
I've added a password file for the rsync command to make a call to as per the FreeNAS documentation but still no dice