Portjail help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris230291

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
300
Hello. I am trying to run SteamCMD in a portjail.
I have already successfully installed bash, linux_base-c6 and the SteamCMD itself.
I have found a script someone has made to launch SteamCMD in FreeBSD. However when I try to run it I get

Code:
root@ArmA:/home/steam # ./steamcmd_freebsd.sh                               
Unable to determine CPU Frequency. Try defining CPU_MHZ. 


I did a google search which turned up this guide


I created a script to run it at startup:

Code:
cd /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
nano linmount
add the following lines:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
mount -t linprocfs linproc &
Then close the file (be sure to save the changes!).

Also, be sure to chmod +x linmount

next

Code:
nano /etc/rc.conf
add the following line:

Code:
linmount_enable="YES"



I followed it and restarted my Jail but I am still getting the same message. I did try changing "#!/bin/sh" to "#!/usr/bin/env bash", but that did not work.

Can anyone help me this? From what I read online I need to tell the Jail to load PC specs on start. I'm a novice at all of this though, but hopefully you guys can help. I've just tried to provide as much info as I can.

Cheers,
Chris.
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
is this a linux jail? I know for MineOS (which runs on linux) you have to mount linprocfs in the jail.

Run the below from your FreeNAS machine (this won't work inside the jail); if it works, add the second command as a startup command for FreeNAS. Replace the CAPITALIZED stuff accordingly.

Code:
mkdir -p /mnt/POOLNAME/JAILS/JAILNAME/compat/linux/proc
mount -t linprocfs linprocfs /mnt/ZPOOLNAME/JAILS/JAILNAME/compat/linux/proc
 

Chris230291

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
300
is this a linux jail? I know for MineOS (which runs on linux) you have to mount linprocfs in the jail.

Run the below from your FreeNAS machine (this won't work inside the jail); if it works, add the second command as a startup command for FreeNAS. Replace the CAPITALIZED stuff accordingly.

Code:
mkdir -p /mnt/POOLNAME/JAILS/JAILNAME/compat/linux/proc
mount -t linprocfs linprocfs /mnt/ZPOOLNAME/JAILS/JAILNAME/compat/linux/proc

Hello again.
This is in a "portjail". I am trying to see if my game server (ArmA server) runs better under FreeBSD. I have already got it running in a Ubuntu Jail but it runs poorly (was told they aren't great yet). It can't/shouldn't be the spec of my server because I have had the program running far better in a VM with lower specs.

I ran that code and well... here look...

Code:
[root@freenas ~]# mkdir -p /mnt/Jails/ArmA/compat/linux/proc                                                                       
[root@freenas ~]# jls                                                                                                             
  JID  IP Address      Hostname                      Path                                                                         
    2  10.0.1.210      Transmission                  /mnt/Jails/Transmission                                                     
    3  10.0.1.220      ArmA                          /mnt/Jails/ArmA                                                             
[root@freenas ~]# jexec 3 tcsh                                                                                                     
root@ArmA:/ # cd /home/steam                                                                                                       
root@ArmA:/home/steam # ./steamcmd_freebsd.sh                                                                                     
Unable to determine CPU Frequency. Try defining CPU_MHZ.                                                                           
root@ArmA:/home/steam # 


I have been following this ... http://wiki.jc-mp.com/Server/Getting_started/FreeBSD_Server

I installed the 2 "Package requirements" and followed from "Part 2: Installing SteamCMD"

Thanks,
Chris.
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
You ran the code? You only ran the first line.
Code:
mount -t linprocfs linprocfs /mnt/Jails/ArmA/compat/linux/proc
 

Chris230291

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
300
You ran the code? You only ran the first line.
Code:
mount -t linprocfs linprocfs /mnt/Jails/ArmA/compat/linux/proc


Sorry I cant believe I missed that. I should read more carefully.

Doing that worked! Thanks.
I set it up as a "pre init" start-up command and now the script works right away when I launch it in my Jail shell, thanks.

I have a new problem now though. When I try to launch the downloaded app it tells me

Code:
root@ArmA:/home/arma # sh start.sh                                             
./arma3server: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (requ
ired by ./arma3server)                                                         
./arma3server: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (requ
ired by /home/arma/libsteam_api.so)                    


So it looks like I need to install "GLIBCXX_3.4.15". I have done a google search which didn't seem to help much. Most people talking about this error are relating to Ubuntu and VM's. It seems the problem there is bad naming of files or files installed in the wrong location. After reading this I did a search in WinSCP for "GLIBC" but found nothing. I was hoping to find it elsewhere and create a symblink/move it to the correct location.

Does anyone know how I can install it/rectify this error?

Cheers,
Chris.
 

Chris230291

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
300
Done it!

Will probably make a guide in case anyone else wants to run a Steam app inside a FreeBSD Jail.

Cheers,
Chris.
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
sweet!
 

Chris230291

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
300
Hows that guide coming along chris? haha

There's not much point man. Steam apps run like shit in a port jail (AI in ArmA 3 for example). It has nothing to do with the specs of the machine, 90% of my CPU is idling. It's the same story when I installed FreeNAS in a VM (to rule out hardware problems).

I've turned to running the servers in a Windows VM. Theres a Virtual Box guide on this forum.

Chris.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top