Plex Plugin - Media not showing

Status
Not open for further replies.

apb0703

Dabbler
Hello all,

I am new to Freenas and I am trying to set up Plex. I have installed the Plugin using Freenas WebGUI and have version 0.9.11.1.678.

On Freenas I have a ZFS volume called Main.

On the Volume I have a Dataset called Videos

On the Data Set Videos I have a dataset called HD Movies

On the Plex Jail I have the plexmediaserver_1 and under that I have a storage set up as /media

On the options under /media i have the following options et

Jail: plexmediaserveir_1

Source: /mnt/Main/Videos/HDMovies

Destination: /media

Read-Only: Unchecked

Create Directory: Checked

Mounted?: Checked

I then went to the Plex Web GUI by clicking on Plexmediaservice in the Freenas WebGUI Plugins and clicked the "Click here to access your Plex Media Server!"

I clicked the "+" next to the plexmediaserver_1

I click Movies

I click Folder and click add folder

I click media and HDMovies so the path is set to /media/HDMovies

I click save changes

After I do all that, my media does not show on Plex. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thank you

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
you're close but misunderstanding the mount slightly. it literally mounts the HDMovies to /media and doesn't create a subfolder for you. I don't know why you would think that.

also the files might be properly present in /media, but plex's user can't read the files because of permission levels.

finally that mount point can be read-only if you like.

apb0703

Dabbler
So I need to change the Destination to /media/HDMovies?

Where would I change the permissions to allow Plex to read the files?

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
you don't need to change it. it that's where you want it to be then yes, otherwise the files should be available under /media.