Plex NAS Build Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

bjurewicz21

Dabbler
Background:
I'm new to FreeNAS but have spent just over a month reading through all of the information and trying to educate myself, this means I will probably still have some pretty stupid questions and maybe enough knowledge to do damage to my system.

Reasoning:
The reason behind this is that I currently have an external HDD that I use to store my movie/tv series collection. Initially this was a great setup for my college years where I was the only one using it, and I would just run an HDMI cable from my computer to the TV. Then I moved into a house and found out about PLEX and started using that. However in order for PLEX to be effective I needed to leave my laptop on all the time, and my laptop was tending to overheat when multiple streams were required (my laptop already runs pretty hot). So I started researching about a solution and in my brief search decided that FreeNAS would be a good solution, as it could not only be my PLEX server but also used as a back-up storage for all the stuff my parents and wife want saved (great cost justification to the wife). Parents don’t trust technology, they want all of their pictures printed on good old 4x6 prints and put into giant photo books.

Current Purpose:
1- Plex Media Server
2- Local Back-up of pictures & files
3- Offsite back-up of pictures & files for parents

Future Purpose Possibilities:
1- Couch Potato
2- Sick Beard
3- SABnzbd

Build:
MOTHERBOARD: ASRock C2750D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283
CPU: Intel Atom C2750 (Passmark 3929)
MEMORY: Whichever approved ECC memory goes on sale when the purchase is made
(Unless someone has a specific recommendation)
HDD: Seagate NAS or WD Red 3TB or 4TB (whichever goes on sale at purchase date)
CASE: TBD based on HDD configuration (question 2)
PSU: TBD based on case (open to recommendations to keep in mind, I know seasonic is the recommended brand from the community)