Planing to buy a FreeNAS MINI XL or build new for same price.

Snurt

Cadet
Hi

First of, happy to see such a great place in my search for a proper home server.

I'm planing to invest in a server that can host as a NAS, transcoder, mobile backup and occasionally a game server. But first and foremost a NAS.
I'm a total noob, but i love to tinker and build, i really love my own hardware.

My problem is the import tax that i have in my country(Norway), so importing once own hardware can often be expensive. Also items bought in Norway have a two/five year law-given guarantee which i quite like.

The parts i already have:
1x Samsung 860 Pro 256GB
2x Kingston SSDNow 256GB (older drives)
1x MSI GeForce GTX 970

So for the same price of the FreeNAS MINI XL i can get the following build from a good vendor locally:
1x Intel Xeon E-2186G
1x ASUS WS C246 PRO
2x Kingston DDR4 2666MHz 16GB ECC CL19 UDIMM(no link found)
1x Noctua NH-D9L
1x Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
1x Silverstone CS380 (have to import)
3x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM

Im planing to use six or eight WD or HGST 8TB NAS drives.

Am i way of in my build? I would love some feedback!

EDIT: If I end up building i wil donate to FreeNAS before i start using it.

Last edited:

Snurt

Cadet
I hate to bump a post, started to look into ordering a NAS/ server box again and i stil feel like i need some confirmation of sorts.

Constantin

Vampire Pig
I’m close to selling a mini XL that was purchased in Sep. 2016 and still has some warranty on it. Was used in my home for about a year before I moved cases.

Buyer has a choice of buying the unit with the OEM 32GB of RAM and/or the upgrade to 64GB. Unit also has a 10GB iXSystems branded SFP+ interface card and a upgraded 80mm Noctua industrial fan.

Timing is a bit of an issue though as the Avoton motherboard failed (Intel clock bug suspected) and iXSystems is working to send me a bug-free replacement. They say it will take at least two weeks due to backlog.