Optimal pool/vdev/drive configuration for 16 drives ?

EPU

Dabbler
This will probably be the first of many posts here, so "Hi" :)

I'm new to FreeNAS, although have been running servers and networks at home for many years, previously always using COTS NAS's (typically QNAP). I'm now looking at building a FreeNAS box to start to consolidate a lot of the other systems I have in my house into a single box (Web server, Wordpress site, Plex server, Storage etc). I'm still in the process of putting together the hardware list, but given a significant cost for any build is always the drives, I've a query about the best configuration to use for the setup I have.

My main chassis is a LogicCase SC4136S (4U, short depth, 16-bay hot swap), and I am looking for some advice on how best to configure the array. I'm looking for resilience, and I'm not overly bothered about overall capacity of the array (I know I can always buy larger drives). However, I've had drive failures in arrays before and I'd like to reduce the inherent risk of a failure during a drive rebuild.

Note I have some drives already (2Tb, 3Tb and 4Tb), so going for a single vdev, 16 drive RAIDz2(or 3) setup doesn't really give me the best capacity/drive configuration from the outset (I know it would if I just bought all of the same, but I don't wish to dump all my old drives just yet)

Reading the documentation, I believe I have two main options to give me the highest resilience, a reasonable sized pool, and the flexibility to not need all the drives to be the same size.

So, ignoring cost for a second, is it better to run

Option1
vdev1 = 8 drives in RAIDz2
vdev2 = 8 drives in RAIDz2

Option2
vdev1 = 6 drives in RAIDz2 with 1 hot swap
vdev2 = 8 drives in RAIDz2 with 1 hot swap

Option3
Something completely different from the above (I know I can go RAIDz3, but can't see the inherent advantage in that give the other resilience options available to me)