Oh dear I really don't know what I'm doing

Macgd016

Dabbler
I've played around with PCs for years but I am still no it expert but through trial and error I can normally get things to work the way I want them to but FreeNAS has got me stumped pretty much at the first gate!

I have loaded FreeNAS 11.3 on a USB stick & it's all loads up fine, I've given it a static IP address and can assess FreeNas using the GUI and that's as far as I can go.

I've read all sorts of setup guides as well and listened to the first 2 courses of the training but I'm finding that I don't even understand the basic terminology that is used. I'm guessing that some of it might be Linux which I've had little or no exposure to but I'm not even sure if this.

Without some basic understanding of the core terms I just don't feel confident to progress any further and am begining to think I need look for a more turn key solution. BUT I hate admitting defeat so I just wonder if there is an idiot's guide to some of the key aspects of FreeNAS or even a step by step initial setup guide out there that explains why you need to do certain things.

As an example, I have set up a user but it's unclear why I don't just use the root user. Then there are groups but I can't see what they are for.

Then the scary stuff, what are pools, they seem to be something to do with the disks but I'm not really sure what. I read a guide that explained the now defunct setup Wizard (I only found this out after reading the guide ) and it suggested you need a minimum of 4 disks, I only have 2 and just want to mirror them for data security.

And I have tried to read parts of the Documents but these quickly exhaust my knowledge and leave me confused.

So you can see I am getting into a right old mess and haven't even started yet so if there is an idiot proof help out there please point me in the right direction

Redcoat

MVP

danb35

Hall of Famer
I'm guessing that some of it might be Linux