Noobie here, planning 1st time build with existing parts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason Taylor

Cadet
Hello

Noobie here, I've done some reading up on raid and FreeNAS and still have so many questions.

I'm an IT network engineer so considered a geek but I've never really dug into building raid before. My plan was to rebuild my unused Windows 10 home built desktop into a FreeNAS, as its only being used for storage as my laptop is more powerful and convenient. I then back this up to an external HD from time to time which is kept in a safe. So converting my desktop to a raided NAS would give me realtime failed hard drive redundudcy, and I would still keep my backup to external HD going (or possibly 2 so I can keep one connected to the NAS). I've got about 1TB of data currently, so 2 TB of useable raid storage should be ample for the time being.

I currently have 2 x 1TB Western Digital hard drives, and a single 1 x 2TB WD drive. Could I stripe across the 2 x 1TB, and then mirror onto the single 2 x TB? I think this would be called a hybrid raid z10 (if I could utilise ZFS). If I can't do this then I will just go and get another matching 2 x 1 TB HD's. Would anyone recommend a better raid setup?

AMD Phenom processor - from reading this is generally a bad idea as it does not support ECC which means I can't utilise ZFS? I suppose that would mean my current 8GB of ram is also non ECC? I need to do some more digging into this. I think I will give it a go either way, but if it won't work or I receive a load of don't even bothers, then I would rather go out and buy a Netgear ReadyNAS instead of buying a new intel processor and motherboard and the supported RAM!

Thanks, looking forward to reading your responses!

Dice

Wizard
Unlike older blogposts and youtuber's projections - FreeNAS is not a suitable "convert your junk into Fileserver with software raid and all the cool ZFS features".