NFS Share + Mac OS X Encoding Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliano Arantes

Dabbler
Hello guys!

A little backstory first, feel free to jump after the break if you don't feel like reading.

I've been using FreeNAS for a while now, since version 9.0, and setting it up to run smoothly with a Mac OS X client has always been a nightmare. Nothing wrong with FreeNAS, now that I have some experience the Windows clients work like a charm, no messing around needed. The problem seems to be Apple and its quest to complicate things...

I've spent the last week testing my setup and trying to get a decent sharing performance. Before anyone jumps in to tell me I need more RAM, I know I should and will add an extra 16GB soon, but right now that's not the issue. AFP was quickly ruled out as obsolete, since our clients currently run Sierra 10.2.6! SMB seemed to be the best option, and worked perfectly on Windows. After some tuning, I managed to get more than 100MB/s read/write speed on the Macs, but real world usage showed huge issues on the Macs when we had too many files in the same folder. Folders would take ages to load, file count would be wrong and randomly change, files disappearing, trying to move or delete files would cause the client to crash and disconnect. Believe me when I say I've tried every possible tweak available, truth is Apple's SMB implementation has always been flawed beyond repair.

I decided to go with NFS, and it has been ROCK SOLID! :) Performance is not that great as SMB, but it's enough and reliability more than compensates it. Folders load instantly, deleting takes seconds. We were able to work for three days without issues. But then someone uploaded a folder with accents and special characters to FreeNAS...
----------------------------