Newbie question on storage layout

Hey all,
newbie here, I've just completed my first TrueNAS build (and my first NAS ever). My goal with this project is to store my personal photos and to learn more (I hope a lot) about NAS software, FreeBSD, sysadmin stuff, etc.

My Setup:
- Motherboard: Supermicro X11SCL-IF
- CPU: i3 8100
- RAM: 16GB ECC
- 2 x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD -> mirrored vdev -> data pool (for important data)
- 120GB SSD -> intended as boot drive (no redundancy)
- 500GB SSD -> intended for applications and VMs (no redundancy -> non critical data, everything important will be stored on the data pool, if this drive fails I'll just set it up again)
- a 5TB external HDD for Backup

Use case:
- Nextcloud for documents, photos, calendar, etc.
- backup for laptop, phone
- experimenting with VMs and trying out docker in a linux VM
No big project, just wanting to try out cool new stuff and to learn a little. But I'd really want my personal data on the data-pool to be safe.

My questions:
- Is it safe to use just one disk for a "application-pool" that will only store non-critical application and VM data (can be lost at any time)? The only thing I care about is the data on the data-pool (two mirrored HDDs). I was just taken aback a little by the warning in the TrueNAS web interface when setting up the single-disk-striped-pool. As far as I understood, loosing this application-pool or the boot-pool (also no redundancy) is just an inconvenience, because I would have to set up my system (in case of the boot drive) or my applications and VMs (in case of the application drive) again (and with a backup of those two drives this shouldn't be too much of a problem).
- Is TrueNAS the right platform for my hardware and my use-case? I've researched a little and I preferred TrueNAS over plain Ubuntu, Proxmox, OpenMediaVault or Unraid because it seems to me that TrueNAS main objective is data integrity (and not e.g. virtualization with Proxmox)