New to FreeNAS - I might be in way over my head

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark Holtz

Contributor
Just to relate my own experience.... and please remember, I am still learning... I only completed my desired FreeNAS build in the past month.

No matter how much documentation you read, there is nothing like hands-on experimentation with an old system. I started out with an old system that was junked at work, put in an older hard drive (singular), and just starting playing around with FreeNAS. The memory was non-ECC, and the hard drive was only 1TB in size. I fully expected to lose my data under that configuration (which didn't happen). It allowed me, however, to play around with the functionality of the server, make mistakes with the CIFS shares, and try out some of the plug-ins. This is also an excellent way to learn how snapshots work.
If you are going to set this up in a Windows environment, you will need to know the quirks of CIPS shares. Once you have handled several of them, it becomes a piece of cake.
By the time I had completed my experimentation, I had a better concept of what I wanted my actual production FreeNAS server. I know I have folks who look at my configuration and say "overkill". But, it fits what I want to do today....and next year.

Dekade

Dabbler
...By the time I had completed my experimentation, I had a better concept of what I wanted my actual production FreeNAS server. I know I have folks who look at my configuration and say "overkill". But, it fits what I want to do today....and next year.