New builds of DELL machines

Status
Not open for further replies.

cristim74

Cadet
Hi there,

I'm new to FreeNAS so please bear with me. I've got three DELL machines and I'm planning the following home setup:

Machine 1: Dell Precision T7500
It currently has a 2.4GHz E5620 quad-core Xeon processor with 4GB DDR3 ECC memory.

RAM will be replaced by 24Gb DDR3 ECC memory. For the drives I will use 6 x 3Tb WD Red drives in a RAID-Z2 configuration, connected to an Intel RS2WC080 controller. If you can recomand a better inexpensive controller please do so. Will also use 2 x 60Gb SSDs for mirrored ZIL and a 120Gb SSD for L2ARC (already have the 3 SSDs).

This will be the main NAS machine installed at home, used for storing both personal and work related data.

Machine 2: Dell Precision T7500
It is identical to the above one, with a 2.4GHz E5620 quad-core Xeon processor with 4GB DDR3 ECC memory.

This machine will run ESXi 5 and I will install on is various server and desktop OSs as needed. It will be installed at home as well.

RAM will be replaced by 48Gb DDR3 ECC memory. For the drives I will use a 180Gb SSD I already have for the OSs and if not enough will also add a HDD. Data for these VMs will be stored on the NAS.

Machine 3: Dell PowerEdge SC440
It currently has a 1.8GHz E2160 dual-core Pentium processor with 512Mb DDR2 ECC memory and a 80Gb HDD.

RAM will be replaced with 4Gb DDR2 ECC (maximum officialy supported ny the SC440). There are some reports of people using 6-8Gb of RAM in this machine but it looks only certain memory works. If you have more info about this please let me know as 8Gb will be much better than 4Gb.

The HDD drive will be replaced by 4 x 2Tb WD drives in a RAID-Z1 configuration. I understand only 2 drives can be connected directly to the motherboard so I need help with a cheap adapter for 2-4 drives.