BUILD New Build Review + few related questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greenman

Cadet
Hello everybody.

This is my first build and I would like to thank to all for the guides throughout the forum. It helped me a lot to see the right HW. Although I must to admit it is much more expensive than I have thought at the beginning (I had no clue about anything), but compared to the ready boxes it is cheaper. The primary goal is to have a home file server and perhaps backup for PCs. As I am still new to this I’ll see what other use I can make of it, I’ll have to go through the jail guides to see that :) (for ex. streaming 1 or 2 HD streams).

So the build:
· SuperMicro X10SLH-F-O
· Intel Xeon E3-1220V3
· 2x CRUCIAL 8GB DDR3 1600 ECC Unbuffered

· Fractal Design Node 804
· Seasonic S12G-450 450W

As for HDD I am thinking of 2 WD Red (EFRX) 6TB, for Freenas a 16GB flash drive and to connect everything - this switch: Netgear GS108E.

Now I have few doubts and questions. This build is based on the x10/v3 platform but Intel already launched the Xeon v5 and Supermicro X11. Would be better to wait for those new components? The advantage would be 8 sata ports on the MoBo and of course it would be based on current technologies (DDR4…). But it might take some time. In the shops they are not even listed yet.

The Xeon might perhaps be too powerful for file server what slower processor would you recommend? Or it is better to have it although not entirely used?