Network drive overloaded

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ryan Zimmerman

Dabbler
Hello

I am new to FreeNas and I am having issues with my network drive that run the backup to the FreeNas. Yesterday on the network drive I had about 12.3Gb of free space of 310Gb. Now today, it is showing 0kb free of 310Gb. I went and scanned all the properties and noticed there is about 340Gb used up of 310Gb and I am not sure why. Has anyone see this issue before?

My apologies if I am not giving all the information probably needed. Again, I just started with this when it was already implemented in the building where I am located, and have no idea what I am doing.

Can we have zpool status and zfs list outputs please

from the command line type in zpool status and give us the output and then the same for zfs list

Ryan Zimmerman

Dabbler
from the command line type in zpool status and give us the output and then the same for zfs list

After more digging I found that the FreeNas is full and I need to delete old snapshots. Is there a location where I can find instructions on how to do so? Trust me when I say I have 0 experience with this and need all the help I can get.

Sounds about right. Login to the UI and under Storage click Snapshots. There you will see all your snapshots. Delete away.

PS: Assuming you have Periodic snapshot schedules setup then snaps should auto expire after x period of time so after fixing the issue by manually deleting snapshots you may want to investigate if your schedules are appropriate.

Beforehand you can run the below command and take a look at how much space is being used by snaps on a given dataset before deletion.

zfs get usedbysnapshots pool1/dataset1

Ryan Zimmerman

Dabbler
Sounds about right. Login to the UI and under Storage click Snapshots. There you will see all your snapshots. Delete away.