Need help with setting permissions and groups

jbarry14

Explorer
I am fairly new to TrueNas and servers in general. I built a server and installed TrueNas. I then ran an Rsync command to transfer all documents from an older server to the new TrueNas. The server is running TrueNas 13. I have multiple users both on Mac and PC. I need to be able to allow everyone to read and write on all folders. But we are experiencing a lot of locked folders. When I try to unlock them, they just revert back to locked. How do I just set it up so all users have all access to the entire server. It seems like no matter what settings I change, It doesn't matter. I have made several users and added them all to the wheel group. In edit permission for my pool, I have all users and groups set to full control. It is becoming a pain when multiple designers can't work on a project, or the machine operators cant save files to those folders, because the folders are locked. Again, I am new to this so I would appreciate any advice or explanations as to how permissions work. I have tried searching the forums for a similar problem to mine, but I have not found one yet.

Glorious1

Guru
You are more likely to get help if you give more information about your settings.
  1. Are you sharing TrueNAS folders using SMB, NFS, or what?
  2. Give all the share settings for an example share where you are having trouble.
  3. The Edit Permissions settings for the shared dataset.
  4. If you have ever changed Permission settings for the dataset, did you change permissions recursively?
  5. How/what user is authenticating from a client computer when trying to access the share.
I'm guessing ACLs might be causing your problems. I don't know much about them except that they are a PITA.

You ask how to give all access to everyone. What have you tried? In the dataset permissions (not the pooll permissions), have you tried checking all permissions for all users and groups, and the changing permissions recursively?