BUILD My First NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghendi

Cadet
Hello,
I'm new to this scene although I have been peeking over the playground wall quite a lot over the past year. I have several questions that I could not find the answers to by searching google.
I'll start off with my build:
The total pre-expansion comes out to ~$1275, and then another ~$570 to expand with another 4 drives and a raid controller, coming to a total of ~$1850.

The NAS will also take on the role of a centralized home/office server. I am quite new to the Virtual Machine world, but the idea is to run ESXI and have a firewall VM (possibly pfSense), FreeNAS VM, and possibly a Windows OS VM for other things like a hosting a Ventrilo (or other VoIP) server, FTP server, Torrents and JDownloader...

It will be storing mainly media (movies, music, family photo albums, etc.) but also sensitive documents that I have digitized (both business and personal). Since that is the case, I thought about setting up the box to run a Raid-Z2 with vdevs of 3TBx4 hard drives providing 5.5TB of storage per vdev. Every time I add HDDs, I will do so in increments of 4 HDDs to the same pool.

Please let me know if there is any component that I should change. I believe all the components are compatible, but if anyone has information that says otherwise, I would greatly appreciate your advice. Is the system build too much or too little? The idea is that it holds up for as long as possible, without going overkill. Money is not an issue, although it's not like I have much more than this to spend on it (I specifically saved up for this project). Is the HDD setup correct or would it be better to do it another way?