Multiple NICs, How to route traffic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eliteassassin

Dabbler
So first let me start off by saying that I am new to FreeNAS and I am currently in what I would call a information gathering\testing stage.

I am looking to create a NAS to expand my current home storage needs and will need it to fulfill all of the following...

1. Provide a location to store my local backups for my computers, using Crashplan.
2. Provide additional MISC storage and archiving needs.
3. Provide storage for my HTPCs.
4. Setup iSCSI with the hope of installing and booting an OS off it.

Item number 4 is what has me concerned... My plan was to install 2 NICs in the host machine one NIC would be directly connected to the NAS (NIC to NIC connection) and the other would be connected to my local home network. The idea being that I would configure the NAS to send all of the iSCSI traffic through the direct NIC to NIC connection thus giving the OS a dedicated gigabit connection. While the other NIC in the host machine would be used for all other traffic. Is this something that is possible? If so how would I go about configuring something like this?

Also if you have any experience running an OS off of an iSCSI drive I would love to here your thoughts on it.

Thank you in advanced.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You'll need to throw a lot of hardware at iSCSI.

That said, if you want a direct connection, it should be easy. Give them compatible IPs on a different subnet from the rest of the network and that should be it.

eliteassassin

Dabbler
So that is what I was thinking, but it just seemed so...simple... lol