Mirrored Pool Usable Space

Status
Not open for further replies.

robsonj

Dabbler
Hi There,

I currently have 3 drobo 4bay boxes and am gonna be migrating to a freeNAS solution in the next few weeks. I am new to FreeNAS so figured I would play around with it in VirtualBox first to get a feel for how it works and maintenance. My drive setup which will come from the drobos is a bit of a hodge podge, but basically...

2 x 4Tb WD Greens, 2 x 3Tb Seagate Barracudas, 2 x 2Tb Hitachi

My plan was to setup a mirrored vpool...

tank
|_4TB mirrored with 4Tb
|_3Tb mirrored with 3Tb
(may add the mirrored 2Tb drives later)

I figured this would give me ~7Tb of usable space, faster reads, reasonable failure protection and the ability to upgrade the drives in pairs.

In virtual box I created a bunch of virtual disks to play with, instead of 4Tb I created 4Gb drives, then 3Gb for the 3Tb etc etc.

I started in virtual box by creating...

tank
|_4Gb mirrored with 4Gb

I expected that would give me ~4Gb of usable space, but I ended up with 2Gb!

Did I do something wrong, or is my understanding of mirroring just wrong? Maybe its just overhead of ZFS, hence I may try a mirrored 40Gb virtual drive to see if its just ZFS overhead which is more noticeable on such small test drives.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers
Jonathan

robsonj

Dabbler
Thanks. I have created my FreeNAS box install, shared it, can access it remotely etc. Works well. My question was about the usable space, 2 x 4Gb drives mirrored should be ~4Gb usable I assumed, but I am getting 2Gb.

robsonj

Dabbler
Aaaa, thank you. Yea, I also created 2 x 40Gb virtual disks in the meantime and see 38Gb usable from a 40Gb mirror, it is just a little overhead. Thanks again for the help!

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
2 x 4Tb WD Greens, 2 x 3Tb Seagate Barracudas, 2 x 2Tb Hitachi

My plan was to setup a mirrored vpool...