Migrate zfs pool from Solaris to FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

mm_half3

Dabbler
Hello,

New to FreeNAS, and just finished weeks of testing/burnin of my first build attempt, like to thank the users in the hardware section of this forum who posted great HowTo threads and scripts for this, they were extremely helpful :D . Even though I am new to FreeNAS, have a pretty good background in zfs on Solaris. Currently have a 43.5TB zfs raidz2 pool that is 64% full, and want to move it from its current Solaris 10 sparc system to the new FreeNAS build. The Solaris data pool has four vdevs each with six two TB hdds, and the FreeNAS build has six eight TB hdds; the raidz2 zfs pool on it will have one vdev using the six eight TB hdds.

The transfer of data between the pools is going to be over a 1Gb home LAN. The two options I am looking at are:

a) create the raidz2 pool, and setup the entire zfs filesystem structure on the FreeNAS server using zpool history on the data pool of the solaris system to get the zfs commands required to replicate the zfs structure on the FreeNAS system; then use a ncftp script to copy the data between the two systems.

b) create the raidz2 pool, and use a nc zfs receive session listening on a local port of the FreeNAS system & on the Solaris system run a zfs send command piped to an nc session that sends to the port on the FreeNAS system the nc command is listening with a zfs receive command.

Does anyone see either of the above options having distinct advantages/disadvantages over the other? Or does anyone have suggestions for a better approach to move the data from the Solaris system to the new FreeNAS build. I know the data transfer is going to probably take close to a week, or maybe a bit more, trying to find the approach that will have the fastest transfer times, and is why I am looking at these two unencrypted transfer options....its too bad zfs export/import is a no go here.