Messed up with ACL and iocage pools

lctr01

Dabbler
So, I messed up with acl and iocage pools. I was having problems with accessing iocage files with the SMB user, so I applied ACL to all the bits recursively, without realising I was messing up the whole thing (I am a total noob)

I stripped ACL from possibly everywhere in the iocage pool, but I can't get the jails to work anymore.

1610288763144.png

what should the permission for these be? how do I restore them? if I restore a freenas backup, will it be sorted?

this is the error when i start the plex jail:

Code:
Starting plexmediaserver_plexpass.
ELF interpreter /libexec/ld-elf.so.1 not found, error 13

this is the error when I start transmission:

Code:
root@transmission:/ # service transmission start

chown: transmis: illegal group name

chown: transmis: illegal group name

chgrp: transmis: illegal group name

Starting transmission.

su: pam_start: System error

/usr/local/etc/rc.d/transmission: WARNING: failed to start transmission

I am running Truenas 12.0-U1

artlessknave

Wizard
restore a freenas backup, will it be sorted
very unclear. there are like 50 different ways to make a backup that could be called "a freenas backup". if you mean the config backup...then no, your pool permissions will not, afaik, be affect by that at all.
I was having problems with accessing iocage files with the SMB user
um. what? why are you trying to access iocage files with smb at all. that...sounds like a bad idea. iocage files should only be accessed by iocage.

I just did this myself not long ago, if in a different way, and, while I'm hardly a guru, I'm relatively experienced in freenas and *nix.
In my case, I fixed my jails by rolling back from snapshots to a time when I was less of a moron before i broke it.
being a newb is often irrelevant. sometimes it takes being an expert to REALLY fudge up. :/

lctr01

Dabbler
thanks,
restoring the config did not help indeed.