Memory usage when expanding Striped Mirrors

Status
Not open for further replies.

jutny

Cadet
Full disclosure: I'm a freeNAS noob. That being said I managed to get my box up and running without any issues. I'm even getting what I think is decent performance out of it, ~80-100MB/s over the network with a shitty switch.

My question has to do with memory usage and striped mirrors. I have read everywhere that ZFS loves memory, but mostly that seems to have to do with RAIDz1 or RAIDz2 where there is parity calculation.

My rig is as follows (I know, I went non-ecc... mini-ITX board choice was a bit limiting for socket 1150):
  • Asus H87I-Plus
  • Core i3 4130T 35w Haswell
  • 16gb crucial 1333/1600
  • Seasonic 400w 80+platinum
  • 4x4tb WD Red - striped mirror (2 en-route literally now)
  • Lian-Li Q08b w/ Noctua Fans
  1. Will my memory usage requirements increase when I expand my storage with another two 4tb drives? Then i'll be 3x2 striped mirrors. Will my 16GB be enough? It's the max the board can take (same problem i ran into with a lot of the miniITX server boards.)
  2. Performance increase or decrease? I can rationalize a small performance increase as workload is split across three drives.
  3. AND finally, can I add the two new, empty drives into the existing vdev? (I think that's the proper terminology) Will freeNAS be able to reconfigure the array on its own?
Thanks in advance, and please be gentle with me. I tried searching a much as possible, but it was hard to find anything that was about striped mirrors specifically, everything else seems to be about RAIDz1 and z2.

joelmusicman

Patron
  1. Will my memory usage requirements increase when I expand my storage with another two 4tb drives? Then i'll be 3x2 striped mirrors. Will my 16GB be enough? It's the max the board can take (same problem i ran into with a lot of the miniITX server boards.)