Large files > 4GB won't copy to linux jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

squidfoo

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS, though am not totally new to FreeBSD. I have this recent installation of FreeNAS 9.2 STABLE on HP Proliant Microservers with 8GB each, both upgraded to 9.2.1.

The issue I have is with copying files to a linux jail, i.e. rsync or scp from a client host connecting to a service that runs inside the jail. On every attempt I ended up with either one of the following error messages:

(inside the linux jail)
Code:
rsync: write failed on "/srv/samba/share/public/./VMs/VBox for iOS/VirtualBox VMs/IE7/Snapshots/{15ecfb1e-699a-4d24-9b66-e25f10b247e1}.vhd": File too large (27)
rsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at receiver.c(322) [receiver=3.0.9]

The file in question is around 11GB.

Another instance inside a linux jail, the transfer of another large file > 8GB fails/stops at around 4294836224 bytes.

From the outside, I get similar errors, going with or without ssh:

Code:
$ scp ext/INFRA-db-backup/old/ibdata1 squidfoo@192.168.200.29:~/ext/INFRA-db-backup/old/.
ibdata1                                                                                     39% 4085MB  18.8MB/s  19.4MB/s   05:31 ETAlost connection

Code:
rsync -e "ssh -l squidfoo"  ext/INFRA-db-backup/old/ibdata1 squidfoo@192.168.200.25:~/test/.
rsync: writefd_unbuffered failed to write 4 bytes to socket [sender]: Broken pipe (32)
rsync: write failed on "/home/squidfoo/ext/INFRA-db-backup/old/./ibdata1": File too large (27)
rsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at receiver.c(322) [receiver=3.0.9]
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (524372 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(605) [sender=3.0.9]

Tbh, I failed to watch memory or other stats while this happened. I did check rsync version: 3.0.9 in all cases, and recompiled rsync with xattr suppport to match the FreeNAS setup. No change in behaviour.