Jail to perform monitoring tasks of other servers (ping etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

diskdiddler

Wizard
I realise no plugin for this exists and I think I asked about something like this 18 months ago, but I knew a lot less then.

Is there some FreeBSD software or linux (BSD can run some linux stuff or all of it, right?) which I can install and configure, preferably web based that will just do basic "monitoring stuff"

Say, pinging about 10 to 30 servers. I don't even think I NEED notifications (I'd like em) but I'd love to pull up a little console now and then, when my network is 'weirding out' on me and see "ahh ok, this is fine, that's not, this is ok"

Any ideas? I can't imagine it would use a lot of power to do it.

gt2416

Patron
Maybe guacamole is what your looking for ? Its a web based software that you can run console, vnc, rdp sessions etc. Check it out

diskdiddler

Wizard
I am going to! thank you

Can someone please help me though.
I am still learning here.

I am making a jail per program to test. Jails will be
smokeping, cacti, guacamole and ntopng
(I dunno I'm just trying to learn)

Should I be installing 11.2-RELEASE or 11.1-RELEASE when I configure the jail?

Also, should I ALWAYS pkg update, pkg upgrade in my jails?

diskdiddler

Wizard
By the way, what I mostly want is a dashboard which lets me see the ping of multiple IPs (which I, manually configure)
I believe some kind of ping plotter, web based, simple. Reliable.

I wanna add like I dunno 25 ips
My router, my HTPC, 3 systems on the net I manage (just the router IP is fine)

etc?

diskdiddler

Wizard
Ok does anyone know how to get smoke ping working?

gt2416

Patron
Last edited:

diskdiddler

Wizard
Hey GT:

Thanks for this, I've messed around and just about got it working.
Not your fault...... but wow.