Is FreeNAS for me? One question stands in the way

Status
Not open for further replies.

tundelas

Dabbler
Hi All,

FreeNAS newbie here. I'm looking for a RAID solution to my future home server and am wondering if FreeNAS is what I'm looking for but my question is around hardware failure.

I'm planning on 8 x 3TB drives into a newly built rig, with a small SSD drive to install FreeNAS on. After setting up RAID on some of those drives, suppose down the road the motherboard seizes to work, or the SSD drive no longer boots up. What happens to my RAID? Is it possible for me to take those eight 3TB drives into a completely different rig and still be able to restore the RAID and access my files?

bollar

Patron
Assuming you have setup the array as ZFS, then the answer is almost certainly yes, you can load the disks into a new system with any OS that supports the version of ZFS that is set on the array. This is one of the best parts of ZFS.

However, remember that a NAS is not a backup, and something catastrophic could happen to the box that also damages the disks.

tundelas

Dabbler
Is FreeNAS what creates the RAID arrays? (thus making the ZFS a "software raid") Or is that done at the hardware level with those 8 HDDs connected to some SAS card?

Also, all 8 drives would be SATA 3.0Gb/s. Since motherboards do not come with 8 SATA slots, would the workaround for this be just a regular PCIe non-raid expansion card? (pls send newegg link if you can)

THanks.

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi tundelas,

FreeNAS uses zfs which is both a volume manager & a filesystem, which means you use it to create your storage pool from your (8 X 3TB) disks as well as being the actual file system. You can also use a hardware RAID card to make the storage pool and then run zfs on that as the file system (this isn't an ideal solution....zfs works best when it has full control of the drives & there is the added expense of buying a hardware RAID controller card).