Is backing up a snapshot good enough?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugh nicks

Cadet
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here, and while I did look around for an answer, I'm afraid I couldn't find a match. My problem seems simple (I hope).

I'm building some new machines for a client of mine who does video editing. His business is taking off now, so he's hiring a new person. So I've designed a workstation for editing, and a NAS for storing. After a lot of research, I've decided to go with FreeNAS, but I digress.

I'm just waiting to hear back from him about if he wants to buy 6 or 8 drives, and that will help me finish ordering the system. So my client will be working on files that vary in size from 500MB to almost 1TB. But only a few per month right now. We know how much storage we'll need, and I've left room in the design for everything to be easily upgradeable.

But now I'm stuck.

Let's make the numbers easy right now..let's sat we have 6TB of free space on the array. My client loads 2 project on after they're completed, and now there's 2 TB on the array, and 4TB free. I set FreeNAS up to take a snapshot every 2 hours. I know that the snapshot is "like" an incremental backup, but will there now be 2TB (original projects) + 2.1TB (snapshot of the original, plus a minor editing change) totalling 4.1TB, in 2 hours? And another 2.1TB in 2 more hours (if more changes were made)?

Obviously we'll run right out of room.

So what are my options? Can I take a snapshot every 4 hours, only store 2 snapshots on the array, and erasing the oldest right away? Or am I completely wrong on how snapshots work?