IPMI Over LAN with Supermicro Xeon D-1521 Board

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisolson09

Dabbler
Hey all,

I'm in the process of my first build and trying to get a few kinks worked out of the system before I move forward. I'm a total newbie when it comes to this stuff but i'm excited to learn. So many of you have already helped me out a ton! My build is with the Fractal Design Node 304 and Supermicro Xeon D-1521 board (http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/xeon/d/X10SDV-4C-TLN2F.cfm).

I was having some issues with the fan threshholds but with your help I got that figured out I think. The last hang up I have is setting up the IPMI over a LAN port using this board. The IPMI works great when using the dedicated port for it but I can't get it to work on any of the LAN ports.

I have a sneaking suspicion that I know the the answer and it can't be done but I thought I'd throw it out to you all and see if there was something I wasn't thinking of. In my research it says that when you run IPMI over a LAN port that it has to be the LAN1 port, the problem comes in for me though is that this board does not have the LAN1/2 ports based on the schematic...it only has the 3/4 LAN ports and I'm wondering if this is the reason why it's not working.

I found this thread that deals with my exact issue but the problem was never fully addressed so that's why I'm asking.

https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/supermicro-ipmi-lan-failover.54248/#post-375841

Thanks everyone for all your help, it's invaluable!!

Chris

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
In my research it says that when you run IPMI over a LAN port that it has to be the LAN1 port, the problem comes in for me though is that this board does not have the LAN1/2 ports based on the schematic...it only has the 3/4 LAN ports and I'm wondering if this is the reason why it's not working.
Are you saying that your system board only has the 10Gb network connections?

Redcoat

MVP