Interference between jail and afp share

Status
Not open for further replies.

kb0

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS and have been struggling with erratic behavior with my Time Machine backups. I have been dropping AFP connections from my Mac to FreeNAS and these dropped connection can only be resolved by manually restarting the AFP service, reconnecting to the share and then running Time Machine. However, I can only run Time Machine once...if I try to rerun a backup my Mac complains that it cannot connect to the share. This behavior is repeatable.

I just discovered the source of my problem. At some point in time I created an instance of ownCloud from within a jail generated with the template: http://download.freenas.org/jails/9.3/x64/freenas-pluginjail-9.3-RELEASE.tgz. This is the only jail I currently run. It was created with VIMAGE and DHCP checked. The MAC address for the jail is fixed and the DHCP server assigns it a fixed IP address. If I turn this jail off, the problem I described above disappears; I sustain a connection to my share and have absolutely no problems with Time Machine backups whatsoever. As soon as I turn this jail on, the problem I described above returns immediately.

I would love to resolve this issue and get both ownCloud and Time Machine backups running contemporaneously. I am new to both FreeNAS/FreeBSD but can provide any information that might be helpful in debugging the problem. Just ask!

MtK

Patron
Interesting!
I'll dig into that tomorrow, might have a similar issue...

Fraoch

Patron
Bump...ever since I configured my first jail, I've had this issue. Time Machine backups worked automatically for months then suddenly it can't find the disk (even though Finder can connect to it just fine).

I believe I read on the forum that a recent FreeNAS update may have broken Time Machine compatibility so I'll have to experiment and see if it's the jail or not.

danb35

Hall of Famer