Installed W/ Monitor+KB -- Now Need to Run Headless -- My First Linux Box

Status
Not open for further replies.

SoonerLater

Explorer
I've searched all forums for "headless" but I am still confused.

I have installed FreeNAS on my brand new HP N40L microserver (on an 8 gb SanDisk USB flash drive). I haven't made a pool yet, but there are six 1 tb HDDs in it that I will make into a Raid-Z2 pool. At the moment, it has a monitor and keyboard attached, but I want to run it headless as soon as I finish configuring it.

I realize that if you just remove the monitor and keyboard, you're headless. And as far as FreeNAS goes, you'll be able to do pretty much everything from the GUI web interface. However, won't there be times that you need a real remote desktop sort of thing? Like WRD (Windows Remote Desktop) or VNC? Is that necessary? How do you set that up?

I'm new to Linux. I can spell Linux... and that's about it.

ProtoSD

MVP
Unless you're lucky enough to have a BIOS that supports VNC, you're right, there will be times when you need a real monitor and keyboard. Most of us just have a spare one around that we can hook up when we need to, the rest the time it's the GUI. I don't know if that system has onboard video, but some motherboards won't boot without some kind of video card.

SoonerLater

Explorer
Unless you're lucky enough to have a BIOS that supports VNC, you're right, there will be times when you need a real monitor and keyboard. Most of us just have a spare one around that we can hook up when we need to, the rest the time it's the GUI. I don't know if that system has onboard video, but some motherboards won't boot without some kind of video card.

You can install VNC on any Windows system. Is the same not true of Linux? If you're running Linux, does your BIOS have to support VNC somehow in order to run VNC on it?

My server (HP N40L) does have onboard video, BTW.

ProtoSD

MVP