I'm looking to set up NAS in my office for everyone to use. Inquiring on whether its possible to allow file creation, but not modification.

Hello everyone! I'm completely new to NAS and though I could ask for some clarification/help here before starting. I have a windows computer in the office that we use as a shared network storage over our internet connection, but my boss recently asked me for a more sophisticated solution. I was wondering if what he asked was possible with TrueNAS.

My boss gave me a list of five requirements:
1. A general folder for the entire office (around ten users) that everyone can use. He said he wants the user to be able to create files/read them, but not modify/delete them. It's my understanding that its impossible to allow file creation while disabling file modification, basic pointer pizazz, but I was wondering if there was a way around this.
2. A personal folder for every user that syncs with a folder on said user's Window's PC, which I understand is possible using Syncthing
3. A separate folder with specific user access. I.E. dev folder only accessible by dev team, which I think is standard in any NAS?

Thanks in advance and sorry for any ignorance on my end!

For reference, the PC we use is 8 cores, 8GB of RAM, & 4TB storage.

somethingweird

Contributor

rvassar

Guru
Hello everyone! I'm completely new to NAS and though I could ask for some clarification/help here before starting. I have a windows computer in the office that we use as a shared network storage over our internet connection, but my boss recently asked me for a more sophisticated solution. I was wondering if what he asked was possible with TrueNAS.

My boss gave me a list of five requirements: