HP ML110 Gen9 / G9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matute

Dabbler
Hi all, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS, but everything tested so far has really impressed me.
I need to build 2 boxes, a main NAS and a secondary one mostly to replicate the first one (backup) and also to backup some VMWare VMs. I've been reading a lot (thanks Cyberjock for your excelent guide) and think that by now I have an understanding of the general architecture and the way things work. Secondary box (called FN2) is a 6 years old IBM x3200 with a flashed M1015 and 7x3TB (6 in RZ2 and a spare) WD Red with 8GB ECC memory and a DC S3500 SSD as a SLOG (I really need it because of the way VMWare handles the copies of the VMs and it has improved by a factor of 10x the write speed in my case) now I need to build the main box (which will be of course FN1) and it should be a really redundant and quick in the reading area solution. For this I'm planning on building it on a HP ML110 G9 with 16 GB and 2 zdevs of 3x3TB WD Red each in R1 mode plus a spare drive. This should give me 2x write speed, 3x read speed and a lot of redundancy. Of course I'm also planning on using a SLOG (again a S3500) if need arise I'll expand the RAM as I know 16 GB is not much.

Now the questions:
- Is it necessary or convenient to use a M1015 flashed card or can I use the onboard HBA? (I understand from what I read that apart from the raid card this mother can be used as a real HBA, has anyone experience with it?)
- Does the ML110 G9 perform well in other aspects with FreeBSD in general and FreeNAS in paticular? (i've read about a network card driver issue but that was back in 2015, I assume everything has been taken care of)

Thanks a lot in advance and sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere, but I didn't find anything at all regarding ML110.

FreeNAS-9.10.2-U3 (e1497f269)
the server datasheet can be found here

Matute

Dabbler