How to troubleshoot slow SSD performance when running Truenas?

Hi All.

Long post, apologies up front. Trying to be as information rich so some good feedback can be provided.

New to Truenas and while I have used ZFS before (back in openindiana days) I am still pretty much a complete newb. Or, at least I know enough to be dangerous, but at least I recognize my limitations.

The backstory to using Freenas/Truenas that I have many (several hundred) of VM's to backup - basic tar & rsync stuff. To handle this I have 8 servers running vanilla centos with 8 sata drives on lsi raid cards that the backups are pushed to overnight.

The IO of the backups are killing the backup servers. CPU's are fine, it's the raid that's not able to keep up. We have tons of free space on the backup servers.

So, I thought (bad move - wife says I should never think) I could maybe re-purpose some spare SSD's, plus a big but slightly older dual e5 2690 v3 server with 384gb ram into a zfs box. ISCSI/NFS mount via 10gbps network to the existing backup servers and maybe we don't have to buy several more backup servers. I've been eyeing Freenas/Truenas for a while - what a great opportunity to play.

I build a beast. Or so I thought. 22 x 1.6tb cloudspeed ssd's, 2 x 32gb satadoms to install on, dual e5 2690 v3, 384gb ram, supermicro X10DRU-i+ motherboard, 24 port chassis, AOC-S3008L-8LE HBA in IT mode in x8 slot. Has 4 x 10gbaseT ports too, but I plan to go to 10g via SPF+ soon as parts arrive.

Memtest the beast for two days, no errors. Install Truenas 11.3-U4.1.

Create pool of 7 raidz1 vdev's with 1 hot spare. So, in my mind this is essentially a big raid 50, should offer some decent performance (to my limited zfs understanding, roughly the speed of 7 ssd when writing, potentially more when reading, plus whatever the arc cache from all that ram leads to). Feel free to tell me the logic flaw here, but I don't "think" the pool config is related to the issue I am facing.