how does freenas work

Status
Not open for further replies.

.net

Cadet
so im new to the whole NAS thing, and i have a few question.
i biggest problen us choosing the software. now my main concern is how my files will be organised. in some cases from what i have read is that you files are organised per hdd. but what i would like to do is organise my data per file folder ie: movies folder, music folder, pic folder, etc. is this possable with free nas. i know amahi supports this feature, but only through greyhole plugin (disk pooling). the other reason is im cosidering freenas is because ive read the zfs is better then just a raid config. any help would be nice. thanks

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
now my main concern is how my files will be organised. in some cases from what i have read is that you files are organised per hdd. but what i would like to do is organise my data per file folder ie: movies folder, music folder, pic folder, etc. is this possable with free nas.
Yes, this is how FreeNAS works. A "folder" in FreeNAS is called a dataset.
the other reason is im cosidering freenas is because ive read the zfs is better then just a raid config.
When used with the proper hardware/config. in my opinion, yes
Plan to spend time reading the vast resources here in the forum, your time will be better spent, rather than asking individual questions.

.net

Cadet
Yes, this is how FreeNAS works.

When used with the proper hardware/config. in my opinion, yes
Plan to spend time reading the vast resources here in the forum, your time will be better spent, rather than asking individual questions.
could you point me in the right dirction. should i just go read read through past threads on the forum

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
There are stickies in every section that are marked with a red "push pin", there you will find
a lot of answers. Read the manual (linked at the top of each forum page) and pay strict attention