Home ESXi Cluster with FreeNAS Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

boston243

Cadet
Hi all,

I've been working on building an ESXi cluster for home use. I'd like to build it with a home-ish budget, but with (near) enterprise-level redundancy, backups, etc. I've been mixing and matching consumer-grade hardware for 5+ years and it's time for an upgrade.

The goal here is to have a 3-node ESXi cluster for compute and use FreeNAS for media storage and VMware datastores.

For VMs, I'll be running (mostly Windows Server 2016 but perhaps Linux where appropriate):
  • Two Plex Media Servers
  • Two domain controllers
  • One web server for Sickbeard, CouchPotato, Headphones, XDM, HTPC Manager
  • One download server (running Deluge, most likely)
  • One BDR server for Veeam (VM backups)
  • One application server for miscellaneous things like network monitoring, Madsonic, DDNS
  • vCenter
For physical servers, my plan is the following:

NAS01: Dell R710, 2x Xeon L5520, 48GB RAM, 4 NICs
  • FreeNAS bare metal on Crucial MX300 SSD (in DVD caddy)
  • Dell PERC H200 in IT mode - 6x8TB WD Red in RAIDZ2 (for media storage from SMB share)
  • Two PCIe SSD adapters - 2x275GB Crucial MX300 SSDs in mirror, for use as ESXI datastore shared via NFS
NAS02: Synology DS413j
  • Two 2TB HDDs in RAID1 for location of Veeam repository and miscellaneous backups (hardware configs, etc). Shared via SMB. Synced to Backblaze B2.
  • Two 275GB Crucial MX300 SSDs in RAID1, for use as ESXI datastore shared via NFS
ESX01: Dell R510, 2x Xeon L5630, 32+GB RAM, 2 NICs
  • ESXi on Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD in PCIe adapter
  • Dell PERC H200 in IT mode - VT-d passthrough to FreeNAS VM. This is to use up the drives from my previous setup. 4x4TB WD Red in RAIDZ1 (media storage), 4x3TB WD Red in RAIDZ1 (media storage), 2x4TB mirrored enterprise drives for ESXi datastores shared via NFS
ESX02: Dell R210 II, 1x Xeon E3-1230 v2, 32GB RAM, 2 NICs
  • ESXi on SSD (TBD)